Bottle Sealing Suggesting

This forum is for discussing all things Port (as in from PORTugal) - vintages, recommendations, tasting notes, etc.

Moderators: Glenn E., Roy Hersh, Andy Velebil

Gerard Portlover

Bottle Sealing Suggesting

Post by Gerard Portlover »

Hello FTLOP Members. Just a question and suggestion. I'm new to FTLOP and have just read about 1977 Taylor Floodgate having a problem with their corks, and I have seen observations where the description of a bottle of Vintage Port is described as having "Seepage". Is this caused by the cork drying out and allowing the Port to escape and also allowing air to enter the bottle? What would happen to the Port if this happens? Would it make the Port sour or have a spoiled taste. Perhaps something like vinegar? I am a Wrench and Tool kind of man and love Home Depot. Funny I have an expensive taste for Vintage Port. My point is, the cork is to ensure that it seals the bottle 100%, keeping the wine pure, not allowing seepage or air in. A suggestion that just crossed my mind is to dip your new bottles purchased in a product called liquid rubber. Tool Manufacturers do this for various tools such as pliers, wire cutters and hammers or any tool that would benefit by adding additional grip to the tool. Home Depot sells a product called Plastic Dip. Bottles of wine can be dipped into this liquid plastic/rubber to assist in the sealing of wine. It comes in colors such as blue, black and yellow. I think it might be a great and inexpensive additional way to seal a bottle of wine that would be stored for any great length of time. I am going to buy some today, and will post again about the success or failure of using this. Love to hear your comments and suggestions. Gerard
Attachments
6535a368-9f0c-4959-9b30-2340e858de3d_400.jpg
6535a368-9f0c-4959-9b30-2340e858de3d_400.jpg (18.49 KiB) Viewed 643 times
Andy Velebil
Location: Los Angeles, California, United States of America - USA

Re: Bottle Sealing Suggesting