Port Friends in the Boston Area

This site is for discussion of travel to the "Land of Port & Madeira" as well as food related to Port or Portugal. Additionally your Offline tasting events can be planned and reviewed here.

Moderators: Glenn E., Roy Hersh, Andy Velebil

Jim C.
Location: Boston, Massachusetts, United States of America - USA

Port Friends in the Boston Area

Post by Jim C. »

I love port but I'm not too good at articulating what I am tasting. I think it would add to my enjoyment if I were able to have more meaningful conversations with my brothers and friends when we open a VP, LBV or aged tawny. I also think it would help me figure out what I like best and decide what my next purchases will be. Unfortunately I don't know a lot of people in the area who are into port. (My brothers live in D.C.) Are there people in the Boston area who meet regularly (or irregularly) to sample ports and share opinions? I imagine everyone brings a bottle or half bottle, or we alternate bringing bottles. I am fine with whatever the expectation is -- just don't make me bring one of my last two '77 Taylors to the first meeting!

Best regards,
Jim Chicoski
Andy Velebil
Location: Los Angeles, California, United States of America - USA

Re: Port Friends in the Boston Area

Post by Andy Velebil »

Jim,

[welcome.gif] to the forum and you've come to the right place. We've got several members from your area who are very good people so hopefully things work out so you can meet up and learn from each other. Don't worry about bringing the 1977 to the first meeting, do you have a 1900 VP you could bring instead :wink: Ok I'm just kidding there :lol: I know Moses drinks all kinds of Ports and wines and hopefully you can get him to part with one if his Vesuvio bottles so he can finally experience it.