Decanting Question

This section is for those who have basics questions about, or are new to, Port. There are no "dumb" questions here - just those wanting to learn more!

Moderators: Glenn E., Roy Hersh, Andy Velebil

Peter L.

Decanting Question

Post by Peter L. »

I have read Roy's article "Decanting Vintage Port: The "Hersh Method", but have a couple questions for people on this forum, as I am new to this. Today I opened a bottle of Warre's 2001 LBV. Had a little trouble with the cork, which leads me to the first question: How man people here use the method Roy mentions using heated Port tongs and "cracking" the bottle? Sounds fun, and something I'm going to try on my next bottle.

Secondly, I didn't have (or couldn't seem to find) any cheesecloth in my kitchen so I just used a funnel and a fine, though apparently not fine enough, metal/mesh screen. Is it common practice to decant twice? Perhaps I need a better filter, but what I did this afternoon was: First I decanted through a funnel and mesh filter into a large glass measuring cup. I captured quite a bit of sediment. Then, I poured the Port from the measuring cup again, through the filter (again) into my actual decanter, as there was still a fair amount of sediment left. Do you ever get that problem? Maybe this could be solved easily with a cheesecloth or some finer filtering mechanism, but it seemed correct to filter again after what was left behind from the first "decant".
Derek T.

Re: Decanting Question

Post by Derek T. »

Peter,

Port tongs are not necessary for wines of the age you are discussing here. The cork in the 2001 LBV you opened has been in the neck for about six years, which is as good as being new.

If you are opening wines of this age, and even Vintage Ports of a couple of decades older, I would recommend standing the bottle up for an hour and then decanting through one of these, or similar.