Drinking Notes 2002 Langhorne Creek Verdelho

For things that don't fit into the other categories.

Moderators: Glenn E., Roy Hersh, Andy Velebil

Ray Barnes

Drinking Notes 2002 Langhorne Creek Verdelho

Post by Ray Barnes »

This is my first attempt at posting any kind of evaluation of wine on the internet, so I ask readers for their forbearance. This table wine, 13.5% alcohol, from South Australia, was a surprisingly excellent introduction to this varietal, and gave me more desire to try a vintage madeira from the same grape. My wife and I thought its initial bouquet was not unlike a German Riesling (Saar in particular), but after a few hours in the bottle I would say its bouquet developed to the point its bouquet was closer to that of typical Gewurztraminer - and that is saying something. Very clean, crisp, dryish finish, excellent length. This turned out to be a delightful table wine for very modest cost - wish I had a case of this. The label suggests this wine would go with salad, white meats and especially seafood. I would suggest this wine has enough acidic backbone that it could be served with almost any entree. If you like Gewurztraminer, this is recommended with enthusiasm. No score given, I do not feel qualified to do that. Excellent value for the modest cost. A friend and I finished this bottle and uncorked a 2004 Domaine Weinbach Pinot Noir. I love this estate's Gewurztraminers and Riesling from its holdings in the Grand Cru Schlossberg, but we agreed, for now at least, that this verdelho was better than the Pinot.
Andy Velebil
Location: Los Angeles, California, United States of America - USA

Re: Drinking Notes 2002 Langhorne Creek Verdelho

Post by Andy Velebil »

Ray,
Have no worries, that is an excellant TN and thank you for posting. Glad your first TN post was here with us at :ftlop: and I look forward to many more. Thanks for posting it.