1943 Hooper Vintage Port

This forum is for users to post their Port tasting notes.

Moderators: Glenn E., Andy Velebil

Errol Kovitch

1943 Hooper Vintage Port

Post by Errol Kovitch »

From a recent cellar purchase for resale. One bottle had a very low fill level mid shoulder, so we opened it. Color was a golden, almost like a 20 yr old Sauternes. Rather disconcerting to see a vintage port poured out of a bottle with no evidence that it was ever purple colored! I have zero experience with tasting any ports older than 70s, but the nose of this Port was quite similar to a 70 Taylor I remember from about 10 years ago, very open and lovely. The taste was lightly sweet, complex, and long. Wonderful balance. No oxidation. A beautiful port, one of the best I have ever had.

The other two bottles are in perfect condition, anyone know what are they worth? Considering the pitiful values of aged Port, I should consider saving these for myself rather than seeing them go for probably not much over $100 each.
Glenn E.
Location: Sammamish, Washington, United States of America - USA

Re: TN: 1943 Hooper Vintage Port

Post by Glenn E. »

I've had the '38 and '42 Hoopers, but not the '43. Sounds like you had a great bottle!

Hooper is one of the less well known shippers, so the value will be lower than for an equally old big name. Still, I would guess that the bottles would probably be worth around $200 each.
Glenn Elliott
Moses Botbol

Post by Moses Botbol »

Have a couple older Hoopers that were fine ports all considered. If the purchase doesn't effect your bottom line, I would hold on to them and drink them. Sounds like you got them for a deal. [cheers.gif]
Welsh Corgis | F1 |British Cars
Roy Hersh
Site Admin

Post by Roy Hersh »

Errol,

Wow, cool to see you over here too! Welcome to :ftlop: !